EEAS: High Representative Josep Borrell announces senior appointments

Brussels, 02/07/2021 - 14:06, UNIQUE ID: 210702_9 Press releases

High Representative/Vice-President Josep Borrell also announced the **appointments of new Heads of Delegations of the European Union**, who will take up their duties as of 1 September :

Paola AMADEI as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Lesotho. She is currently Advisor to the EEAS Managing Director for the Americas. She formerly served as Executive Director of the European Union – Latin America and Caribbean Foundation.

Douglas CARPENTER as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Central African Republic. He is currently Deputy Head of the EEAS Southern Africa and Indian Ocean Division. He also served as Deputy Head of the EEAS Central Africa and Great Lakes Division.

Dessislava CHOUMELOVA as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Eswatini. She is currently Head of the Demography, Migration and Governance Unit of the Joint Research Centre of the European Commission. She also served as policy officer in the Delegation of the European Union to South Africa.

Samuela ISOPI as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Nigeria and Economic community of West African States (ECOWAS). She is currently Head of Delegation of the European Union to Central African Republic. She also served as Italian Ambassador to Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad and Equatorial Guinea.

Gwilym JONES as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Mauritania. He is currently Head of Cooperation of the Delegation of the European Union to Niger. He also served as Head of the Brussels Office of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development.

Manuel MUELLER as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Sierra Leone. He is currently German Ambassador to South Sudan. He also served as Deputy Head of Division for Sahel, West and Central Africa in the German Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Irchad RAZAALY as Head of Delegation of the European Union to Ghana. He is currently Head of the EEAS West Africa Division. He also served as Member of Cabinet of the former Commissioner for Development, Andris Piebalgs. The High Representative also welcomed the <u>new EU Special Representatives</u> (EUSR) who were appointed on 21 June by the Council, following his proposal and took office on 1 July

Emanuela Claudia DEL RE, as EU Special Representative for the Sahel, from 1 July until 30 August 2022.

Annette WEBER, as EU Special Representative for the Horn of Africa, from 1 July 2021 until 30 August 2022.